Read online articles when you have time to read them with Instapaper.

Instapaper has been around for awhile now. I must admit that I just discovered it recently, but it has already helped me tremendously. If you are at all like me, you often find articles online that you really want to read, but you don’t have time at that moment to read them. In the past, I would bookmark it to come back too later, but alas the link would get lost in my maze of bookmarks. I played with Delicious and even Google Bookmarks a bit, but it didn’t really seem to help me. Enter Instapaper. First, you sign up (easy process) for a free Instapaper account. Instapaper provides a “Read Later” bookmarklet (a small link that goes in your bookmark bar at the top of your browser) to let you store articles for reading later. When you find an article online that you want to read, but you don’t have time at the moment simply click the “Read Later” bookmarklet and the article is added to your account. If you use Google Reader as your blog reader, you can add a “Send To Instapaper” link in your Reader so you can send the article directly into your Instapaper account.

Once the articles are in your account, Instapaper’s power really kicks in. You can read these articles online later, read them on your iPhone, download them as PDF files, or even download them to your Kindle if you have one.¬†As an iPhone user, now I can read these articles whenever I have free time. The iPhone app (free or Pro version $4.99) presents the text of the article in a very readable style even on a small screen. The Pro version offers some great features including Dark Mode for low light situations (the screen presents the text as white of black), tilt scrolling (simply tilt your iPhone and the text scrolls as you read), folders, star articles you’d recommend and it even saves your position in the document so you can pick up right where you left off later. Now, I can catch up on my reading while standing in line at the bank, while eating my lunch (without getting food all over my laptop keyboard) or any other time I have a few free minutes.

Check out the Instapaper video below and start reading those articles you want to read, when you have time to read them.

Explore posts in the same categories: Apps, blogs, Internet, iPhone

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

